The Suck of Sarcasm

I was talking to a friend of mine this afternoon, and she revealed to me that my love affair with sarcasm causes “lots of people” to be afraid of talking to me, because they feel I will be too judgmental. Oh, whoops. At first I wasn’t too sure of what to do. Then, I thought that it’s definitely time to do something. Right after that, I realized it’s too late to do anything.

Sarcasm becomes a part of your outlook on life. It’s a speech and social interaction tool that we use to mock, or for general humour. If it becomes overused (extremely so in my case) it becomes hard for people around you to catch what you’re trying to throw at them. They aren’t sure whether to laugh or cry at your quips, and soon enough people start having to ask you “So, was that sarcasm again, or what?” Fuck me, that is NOT good!

Oh boy, I just fucked up!

I propose a “No Sarcasm Week.” A time to relax, to lay off the insults and the mildly amusing humour (because that’s what happens when you do it too much) and translate your thoughts directly into speech without processing it like cheap cheese, because cheap cheese is what you get. Join me, everyone, and let’s not demand a penny for our thoughts.

Quip -A clever, witty remark often prompted by the occasion.

5 Responses to “The Suck of Sarcasm”


  1. 1 Valery April 9, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    awww gosha, i taught you well, finally people are scared of you!
    we showed that bastard ferny in gr 10…hehhe he cried like a little b*tch

  2. 2 Emily April 10, 2008 at 9:38 am

    yeah.. i’m not a huge fan of Arcarde Fire either i’ll have to check out the song you recommended, thanks!
    I actually wanted to comment on your sarcasm blog entry because it is something I have deliberated. I heart mocking. I heart people who mock (of course not to the mockee’s face). And when we verbally spar in mocking tones my heart flutters with love. Anyways, joking aside, my argument here would be that I agree that sarcasm can be hurtful and confusing for some people, I think it is okay with people who also appreciate it. I think it’s one thing to be nice to everyone and it’s quite another to suppress a brilliant part of your sarcastic self and try to be someone else. Thus, instead of completely expunging myself of sarcasm, I think I’ve tried to gauge to whom I can reveal this side of me and to suppress my mocking urges around those who are more sensitive and would not find sarcasm hilarious as I do.

  3. 3 olgaolgaolga April 11, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    LOVE THE PIC GOSHA!! hahaha thats amazing

  4. 4 teengle at work April 12, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    who’s this emily? it aint ma emily so :S

  5. 5 happyatom April 12, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Maybe you should click her name and find out for yourself?


Leave a Reply

The Present

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

The Past

Categories

Quotes

Watch out for that house! I mean car!

Statistics

  • 55,722 views

