The Meaning of “lol”

When was the last time you actually laughed out loud when you wrote “lol”? My guess is, 5 years ago. Personally, when I type “lol” my lips don’t even move. Whenever someone actually laughs out loud (which, as we know from human psychology happens rarely if you’re alone) they type “hahaha, omg rolfcopter t3h hilarious roflmao” or some other nonsense along the same line. This lets me know that what I just said is not only hilarious, but they have no actual way to describe their laughter. That sucks.

“lol” means nothing. No, that’s wrong, it means something, it just isn’t an indicator of humour anymore. “lol” at this point either means “I was joking” or “Don’t beat me up, please.” The first one is obvious, if you put “lol” after your post, it means whatever precedes it should not be taken seriously. The second one is trickier, so I will illustrate with an example.

Without LOL

Figure 1.0 – A Straight Ticket to ass-kick-ville

With LOL

Figure 2.0 – Saves your butt

-Gosha

10 Responses to “The Meaning of “lol””


  1. 1 Teengle not feeling like siging in May 25, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    lmao there I guess this post can later be elaborated on , to include ALL other meanings of lol as it is evolving 🙂

  2. 2 E May 25, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    I propose a new acronym: isabidnftpfhidwtoybngytrye, which stands for:

    I’m slightly amused, but I didn’t find that particularly funny. However, I don’t want to offend you by not giving you the response you expected.

  3. 3 The Wicked Beggar May 29, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    ^ Hmm… strange, I though that was what “lol” was for?

  4. 4 nikikikiki June 12, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    hahahha

  5. 5 nikikikiki June 12, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    ( i laguhed only on the inside )

  6. 6 amanda June 16, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    lol means laugh out loud or lots of love ❤ when u say lol u usually say it because the conversation went dead and you dont hav anything to say so you ssay "lol" or you can just say it when someone says a joke even if it isnt funny

  7. 7 Emmie December 15, 2010 at 11:58 am

    I liked your post and i do think that LOL is used far too much now.

  8. 8 webpage July 10, 2013 at 10:58 am

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle
    for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this site with
    my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  9. 9 youtube July 17, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    For the reason that the admin of this website is working, no question very soon it will be
    well-known, due to its quality contents.

  10. 10 youtube September 26, 2013 at 7:11 am

    Its like you learn my thoughts! You seem to grasp a lot about this,
    like you wrote the guide in it or something. I believe that
    you just can do with a few percent to drive the message home a
    bit, however instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read.
    I will certainly be back.


Leave a Reply

The Present

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The Past

Categories

Quotes

Watch out for that house! I mean car!

Statistics

  • 56,338 views

