The uWaterloo Experience

I promised I’d write a university post, so here we go. I moved in on September 7th, a Sunday. Move-in was smooth as silk, they even had attractive 3rd-year girls helping out. After I dumped my junk into my room I had to roam around the not-very-big-but-still-organized campus for a bit to go through the registration, get my lameoid frosh band (which will later give me the most wicked watch tan ever) and try not to pass out from the heat.

I spent the rest of the day relaxing and walking around with a few Newtonbrook guys who live in the same residence. The next week was a whirlwind. Frosh was sort of lame, in a “hey, let’s organize a bunch of events for these guys” way, but still cool and I met a ton of awesome people. I went home for the weekend, which was interesting since that was the first time I used Greyhound. No, there was not enough leg room.

I’m in Nanotech, my entire class is about 120 people. All my lectures are in the same room, but my tutorials and labs are spread over the campus a little bit. Unlike others, my experience doesn’t differ very much from high school. I have class essentially 8:30-3:30, with an hour-long lunch break. The one thing that is different though was already mentioned by Ali. All assignments (or almost) are uploaded, and submitted electronically. Unlike Shulich though, uW has a centralized system. Of course, profs don’t really care if you don’t submit assignments, since they’re worth shit. My final exams are worth around 50% with midterms worth around 30%.

The food in the caf is good. The classes aren’t very hard. The people on my floor are awesome. Living in residence is just freaking great. I don’t know what to do with all the freedom frankly. I think this freedom-freakout is the primary reason for people dropping out, since if you got in it means you should be able to stay in. It’s weird how living away from your parents quickly changes the way you do things. Now that it’s up to me, I’ve taken to eating a lot more vegetables. Funny how that works.

I’d post some pictures, but I left my camera back at home. Whoops, I meant I left it back at my parents’ home.

7 Responses to “The uWaterloo Experience”


  1. 1 teengle at work September 23, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    WOW NICE STUFF,george for once I read the WHOLE post 🙂 , very interesting stuff I am glad you are enjoying your time too bad you couldnt join us for shawerma at 12 our got got parked in so we like walked home lmao and I had to go pick it up the next morning LAME… neway ya waterloo sounds sweet all the half of brook that goes there is telling me fabulous things about it…
    I am hopefully going to visit you all one weekend,
    Take care , keep eatinn those vegetables, its true when ur not forced to do things u suprisingly end up liking to do them… if that made any sense lol 🙂
    Peace

  2. 2 teengle at work September 23, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    WHERE IS OLGA, I’M GETTING WORRIED aaaaaaaaaa

  3. 3 Em September 23, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    if u had facebook…maybe ud know..
    GOD EVEN OLGA HAS FACEBOOK..
    someone else who said they would never get it.

  4. 4 happyatom September 25, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Olga has Facebook? Well fuck me!

  5. 5 teengle at work September 26, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    wut olga’s fucking u gosh :O

  6. 6 Em September 27, 2008 at 7:48 am

    shhhhh ali…just go to sleepp..shhh shhh shhh…

  7. 7 The Wicked Beggar November 5, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Congrats on going to uni. I’ve been at uni for a year now, and I still don’t know what to do with all my spare time!


Leave a Reply

The Present

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

The Past

Categories

Quotes

Watch out for that house! I mean car!

Statistics

  • 55,918 views

